Background and Purpose 

The purpose of the Council is to advise HHSC on the development, implementation, expansion, and delivery of services through consumer direction, in all programs offering long-term services and supports that enhance a consumer's ability to have freedom and exercise control and authority over the consumer's choices, regardless of age or disability.

Visit the Consumer Directed Services (CDS) homepage for more information about the CDS option.

The adopted rules that outline the Council's statute authority, purpose, tasks, reporting requirements and membership are located at the Texas Register's website.

2018 Meeting Dates

Full Council Meetings

Tuesdays | 10 - 4 p.m. - Brown Heatly Building, Public Hearing Rooms

Subcommittee Meetings

Mondays before the full Council meeting

  • Quality Assessment and Performance Improvement
    8:30 - 10:30 a.m. | Brown Heatly Building, Room 4501
  • CDS Processes and Expansion
    12 - 2:45 p.m. | Brown Heatly Building, Room 4501
  • Training Outreach
    3 - 4:30 p.m. | Brown Heatly Building, Room 4501


  • Diego Astolfo, Southlake, Advocate
  • Helen Baker, San Antonio Financial Management Services Agency (FMSA)
  • Mika Renae Bradford, Advocate
  • Ricky Broussard, Texas City, Consumer  
  • Leslie Curtis, Advocate
  • Heidi Davis, Richardson, FMSA
  • Roger DeLeon, Pflugerville, Representative STAR+PLUS MCO
  • Diane Felder, Cypress, Advocate of Mental Health Services
  • Greg Hansch, Austin, Advocate
  • Del Hodge, Sugarland, Family Member
  • Deana Jaggers, Mount Vernon, FMSA
  • Linda Levine, Bee Cave, Advocate
  • Stephanie M. Martinez, Service Representative
  • Dean Pye, Abilene, LIDDA - Local Intellectual and Development Disability Authority
  • Randell Resneder, Consumer
  • Keisia Sobers-Butler, Spring, Representative STAR Kids MCO
  • Misty Sullivan, League City, Advocate
  • James Van Winkle, Conroe, Consumer
  • Nell Walder, Houston, Advocate

Agency Representatives

  • Heatherly Chenet, Presiding Officer, Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
  • Paula Brunson, Texas Workforce Commission (TWC)
  • Peter Dean, TWC
  • Michael Roberts, Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS)
  • Dena Stoner, HHSC
  • Teresa Watkins, HHSC

Legislative Reports

More Information 

Please contact Suzanna Carter, Advisory Committee Coordinator at Phone: 512-730-7423

Watch live or archived meetings.

View Webcasts