Ambulatory Surgical Centers

Sign up to receive email updates about important changes to Ambulatory Surgical Centers. This feature will serve as a tool to increase communication with license holders regarding new information added to the website.

Sign Up

The Texas Ambulatory Surgical Center Licensing Act was enacted in 1985 by the 69th Texas Legislature and can be found in chapter 243 of the Health and Safety Code. Ambulatory Surgical Centers are commonly referred to as "day surgery centers." An ASC must provide surgical services as its primary service. They do not provide overnight or inpatient care. Care is provided on an outpatient basis.

The Health and Human Services Commission has adopted rules at Texas Administrative Code, Title 25, Part 1, Chapter 135, Ambulatory Surgical Centers that establish minimum standards for ASC licensing procedures; for granting, denying, suspending and revoking a license; for licensing fees; for operating requirements; and for requirements concerning design, construction, and fire prevention and safety.

Find or Verify a Licensee

View the Directory of Ambulatory Surgical Centers (PDF)

Licensing

The following documents, fees, and actions shall be completed and approved before a license will be issued:

Initial Application

  • A license application form (PDF) submitted no earlier than 90 calendar days prior to the projected opening date of the facility.
  • A license fee of $5,200 shall be submitted. Make checks payable to the Texas Health and Human Services. License fees are not refundable.
  • Approval for occupancy shall be obtained from Texas Health and Human Services, Architectural Review Unit.
  • The Administrator, Medical Chief of Staff, and/or Director of Nurses listed on the application shall attend a pre-survey conference at the Health Facility Compliance Zone Office designated by the department. Contact the designated zone office (PDF) to schedule the pre-survey conference.

Renewal Application

Relocation Application

  • A license application form (PDF) submitted within no earlier than 90 calendar days prior to the projected opening date of the facility.
  • A license fee of $5,200 shall be submitted. Make checks payable to the Texas Health and Human Services. License fees are not refundable.
  • Approval for occupancy shall be obtained from Texas Health and Human Services, Architectural Review Unit.

Change of Ownership Application

  • A license application form (PDF) to be submitted at least 30 calendar days before the date of the change of ownership.
  • A license fee of $5,200 shall be submitted. Make checks payable to the Texas Health and Human Services. License fees are not refundable.
  • The Administrator, Medical Chief of Staff, and/or Director of Nurses listed on the application shall attend a pre-survey conference at the Health Facility Compliance Zone Office designated by the department. Contact the designated zone office (PDF) to schedule the pre-survey conference.

Supporting Forms and Documents

Survey Components

During the initial licensing period, Health Facility Compliance Zone Office staff will conduct an on-site survey to ascertain compliance with the provisions of the Health and Safety Code and associated rules. An entrance conference will be held with key facility personnel. Zone office staff will explain the survey process and answer questions. During the survey, zone office staff will:

  • Review clinical records
  • Review facility policies and procedure
  • Review quality assurance activities
  • Review personnel records
  • Interview staff
  • Conduct an exit conference with key facility personnel
  • Discuss survey findings

Open Records Requests

There is no specific form for submitting your open records request. Your request must be in writing and may be submitted by mail, fax or email. Include enough description and detail about the information requested so we can accurately identify and locate the information. List your name and mailing address so we can provide you with the requested information. We may also provide you with an itemized statement of charges, if applicable, or notify you if the information you are requesting cannot be provided promptly.

Provider Certification

The Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services directs state health agencies or other appropriate agencies to determine if health care entities meet federal standards.

For more information on the certification process, refer to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Information page, or contact your zone office (PDF).

CLIA Information

Visit the CLIA information website. For more information, please contact the zone office (PDF) for your location.

Laws and Rules

Enforcement Actions

Ambulatory Surgical Centers Enforcement Actions, June 2018 – June 2019 (PDF)

Contact Information

General Email, Fax, Phone and Mailing Information

Phone: 512-834-6648
Fax: 512-834-4514
Email: healthfacilitylicensing@hhsc.state.tx.us

Mailing Address
HHSC
Health Facility Licensing
Mail Code 2835
P.O. BOX 149347
Austin, Texas 78714-9347

Mailing Address for Applications with Fees:
HHSC-ARTS
P.O. BOX 149055
Austin, Texas 78714-9055

Take a Customer Service Survey

Enforcement Unit

Phone: 512-834-6634
Fax: 512-834-6623
Email: enforcement@hhsc.state.tx.us

Mailing Address:
Texas Health and Human Services
Regulatory Services Division, Enforcement Unit
P.O. Box 149347
Austin, TX 78714-9347