Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinics (CCBHCs)

Over the past decade, Texas has made significant investments into the behavioral health delivery system. Policy revisions, infrastructure development, and technological innovations have been employed to allow people to have better access to the care they need. However, gaps and fragmentation of care continue to present significant barriers for populations with serious and persistent mental illness, emotional disturbances and substance use disorders.

To help address these gaps, Texas Health and Human Services (HHS) applied for and was awarded a Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinic (CCBHC) planning grant in October 2015.

Participation in the SAMHSA CCBHC planning grant provided Texas with a unique opportunity to partner with managed care organizations (MCOs), providers and stakeholders to certify clinics and develop an integrated service delivery framework.

Texas CCBHC Initiative

While Texas was not selected as a national demonstration site in phase 2 of SAMHSA’s CCBHC initiative, Texas Health and Human Services is continuing to use the CCBHC framework as a model to transform service delivery to improve the lives and health outcomes of vulnerable populations by creating a more efficient and coordinated system.

The Texas CCBHC Initiative aligns the goals of CCBHCs within the current Medicaid and behavioral health environment in Texas and demonstrates a commitment to using CCBHCs as a best practice for service delivery in behavioral health settings. Starting in Fiscal Year 2020, and as an identified goal in the HHS Business Plan: Blueprint for a Healthy Texas, HHS will begin increasing the number of CCBHCs statewide to expand capacity for community-based behavioral health services and enhance behavioral health care outcomes.

Eligible centers that are interested in becoming a CCBHC can contact the Texas CCBHC Initiative mailbox. For the purposes of meeting the goals outlined in the HHS Business Plan, centers that are Local Mental Health Authorities will be prioritized. 

Certified Sites

Andrews Center
Certification Expiration: August 2023

Austin Travis County Integral Care
Certification Expiration: March 2023

Betty Hardwick Center
Certification Expiration: May 2023

Bluebonnet Trails Community Services
Certification Expiration: March 2023

Certification Expiration: March 2023

The Center for Health Care Services
Certification Expiration: December 2022

Community Healthcore
Certification Expiration: October 2022

Emergence Health Network
Certification Expiration: March 2023

Harris Center
Certification Expiration: June 2022

Helen Farabee Centers
Certification Expiration: February 2023

LifePath Systems
Certification Expiration: August 2023

Certification Expiration: August 2023

MHMR of Tarrant County
Certification Expiration: February 2023

the Montrose Center
Certification Expiration: December 2022

Certification Expiration: July 2023

Pecan Valley Centers
Certification Expiration: July 2023

StarCare Specialty Health System
Certification Expiration: April 2023

Texoma Community Centers
Certification Expiration: June 2023

Tropical Texas Behavioral Health
Certification Expiration: February 2023