Statewide Behavioral Health Coordinating Council

House Bill 1, 84th Legislature, Regular Session, 2015, (Article IX, Section 10.04) established the Statewide Behavioral Health Coordinating Council. The SBHCC is comprised of representatives of state agencies or institutions of higher education that receive General Revenue for behavioral health services. In 2019, the SBHCC was codified in Government Code, Chapter 531.

The SBHCC was established to ensure a strategic statewide approach to behavioral health services. The SBHCC’s core duties include:

  • Develop and monitor the implementation of a five-year statewide behavioral health strategic plan
  • Develop annual coordinated statewide behavioral health expenditure proposals
  • Annually publish an updated inventory of behavioral health programs and services that are funded by the state

Though the Health and Human Services Commission oversees SBHCC operations, the functions and duties of the SBHCC extend by HHSC’s purview with shared accountability to the heads of agencies and institutions of higher education comprising the SBHCC, and ultimately, the Texas Legislature.


Brooke Boston
Director of Programs
Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs

Scott Ehlers
Special Counsel, Director of Public Defense Improvement
Office of Court Administration/Texas Indigent Defense Commission

Andrew Friedrichs
Justice Programs Administrator
Office of the Governor

Sonja Gaines
Deputy Executive Commissioner
Health and Human Services Commission, IDD-BH Services

Stephen Glazier, FACHE
Chief Operating Officer
University of Texas Health Science Center – Houston

Manda Hall, M.D.
Associate Commissioner
Department of State Health Services

Courtney Harvey, Ph.D. (Chair)
Mental Health Statewide Coordinator and Associate Commissioner
Health and Human Services Commission, Office of Mental Health Coordination

Judy Jarratt, Ed.D
Senior Director for Campus Alliance Telehealth Resources
Texas Tech University System

Elizabeth Kromrei
CPS Director of Services
Department of Family and Protective Services

Mike Maples
Deputy Executive Commissioner
HHSC, Health and Specialty Care System

Tiffany Maybank
Special Projects Coordinator
Texas Civil Commitment Office

Megan Molleur
Grant Attorney & Administrator
Court of Criminal Appeals

John Monk
Health Professions Council (representing the State Board of Dental Examiners, the Texas State Board of Pharmacy, the State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, the Texas Optometry Board, the Texas Board of Nursing and the Texas Medical Board).

Elizabeth Newlin, M.D.
Vice Chair of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
Texas Child Mental Health Care Consortium

Brittney Nichols, LPC-S
Program Director
University of Texas Health Science Center – Tyler

Lori Robinson, Ph.D.
Director of Integrated Treatment
Texas Juvenile Justice Department

Jonas Schwartz
Program Manager, TWC-Vocational Rehabilitation Division
Texas Workforce Commission

Stacy Silverman, Ph.D.
Deputy Assistant Commissioner, Academic Quality and Workforce Division
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board

Luanne Southern
Executive Director
Texas Child Mental Health Care Consortium

Shandra Sponsler
Deputy Branch Manager, Family Support Services
Texas Military Department

Kristi Taylor
Executive Director, Judicial Commission on Mental Health
Supreme Court of Texas

William Turner
Research Specialist II, Public Information Officer
Texas Commission on Jail Standards

Julie Wayman
Mental and Behavioral Health Manager, Interagency Liaison
Texas Education Agency

John Wilson
Community & Faith-Based Coordinator
Texas Veterans Commission

April Zamora
Director of Reentry and Integration Division
Texas Department of Criminal Justice/Texas Correctional Office on Offenders with Medical or Mental Impairments

Meeting Dates

  • April 22, 2020 (9:00 a.m.)
  • July 22, 2020 (9:00 a.m.)
  • October 8, 2020 (9:00 a.m.)

For More Information

Contact us at serves as a resource for mental health services in the state of Texas.