
MEPD and TW Bulletin 23-14 

Date:  September 15, 2023 

To:  Eligibility Services Supervisors and Staff 
Program Managers 
Regional Directors 
Regional Attorneys 
Hearings Officers 

From:  Gina Carter, Interim Deputy Associate Commissioner 
Access and Eligibility Services Program Policy 
State Office 2115 

Subject:
 

1. TANF Maximum Grant Amounts 
2. SNAP Income Limits, Deductions, and Allotments 
3. SNAP-CAP Allotments 
4. Changes During the Certification Period 
5. New ABAWD Exceptions 
6. New ABAWD Age Criteria 
7. Transfer of Assets Divisor 
8. Revised - Application Process Updates for Marketplace 

Account Transfers 

The information in this bulletin will be included in a future handbook revision.  Until 
the handbook is updated, staff must use the information in this bulletin. If you have 
any questions regarding the policy information in this bulletin, follow regional 
procedures. 

Active bulletins are posted on the following websites: 

● Medicaid for the Elderly and People with Disabilities Handbook (MEPDH) at 
https://hhs.texas.gov/laws-regulations/handbooks/mepd/policy-bulletins; 

● Texas Works Handbook (TWH) at https://hhs.texas.gov/laws-
regulations/handbooks/texas-works-handbook/texas-works-bulletins. 

https://hhs.texas.gov/laws-regulations/handbooks/mepd/policy-bulletins
http://hhs.texas.gov/laws-regulations/handbooks/texas-works-handbook/texas-works-bulletins
https://hhs.texas.gov/laws-regulations/handbooks/texas-works-handbook/texas-works-bulletins
https://hhs.texas.gov/laws-regulations/handbooks/texas-works-handbook/texas-works-bulletins
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1. TANF Maximum Grant Amounts 

Background 
State law requires the monthly Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) 
maximum grant amounts be adjusted to 17 percent of the current federal poverty 
level (FPL). Effective October 01, 2023, Texas HHSC revised the annual TANF 
maximum grant to reflect the FPL increase. 

Current Policy 

TANF 
Staff must use the TANF Budgetary Allowances chart effective October 01, 2022, to 
determine the maximum grant amount for TANF eligibility determination groups 
(EDGs). (TWH C-111, Income Limits). 

New Policy 

TANF 
Effective October 01, 2023, staff must use the TANF Budgetary Allowances chart 
below to determine the maximum grant amount for TANF EDGs. There are no 
changes in the budgetary or recognizable needs amounts for these eligibility tests. 

TANF Maximum Grants (Effective October 01, 2023) 

Family Size Non-caretaker 
Cases 

Caretaker Cases 
Without Second 

Parent 

Caretaker 
Cases with 

Second Parent 

1 $121 $147 --- 
2 $174 $305 $234 
3 $243 $353 $386 
4 $290 $424 $434 
5 $372 $471 $503 
6 $402 $541 $552 
7 $501 $588 $619 
8 $551 $669 $667 
9 $632 $717 $748 
10 $681 $798 $796 
11 $762 $847 $877 
12 $810 $928 $926 
13 $891 $976 $1,007 
14 $940 $1,057 $1,056 
15 $1,020 $1,105 $1,136 

Each additional 
person + $81 + $81 + $81 

https://www.hhs.texas.gov/handbooks/texas-works-handbook/c-110-tanf#C111
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Policy for EDGs Processed After September Mass Update 
For the benefit month of: Use the: 
September 2023 or earlier, Previous maximum grant amount. 
October 2023 or later, Updated maximum grant amount. 

Automation 
TIERS will update the TANF grant amounts during the weekend of September 02, 
2023. The updated TANF grant amounts are budgeted in TIERS for benefit month 
October 2023 and ongoing. TIERS converts the benefit amount for TANF EDGs in 
ongoing status without an override designation and produces a combined Form 
TF0001, Notice of Case Action, for any SNAP, TANF, or Medical Assistance (MA) 
EDGs with a benefit change. 

Note: A TIERS exception report for EDGs not included in the mass update is 
distributed for staff action. EDGs not updated will receive an explanation of the 
October cost-of-living adjustment (COLA) on the next Form TF0001 produced for 
that EDG. 

Correspondence 
The following language will be included on the Form TF0001 for TANF households 
with an increased allotment: 

Benefit amounts for many people have changed. This is due to new federal 
and state laws or rules. Changes go into effect October 1, 2023. 

Handbook 
Updates to the MEPDH are not required. 

The TWH is currently scheduled to be updated in the October 2023 revision. 

Training 
Training is not required. 

Effective Date 
The policy is effective beginning with the October 2023 benefit month. 
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2. SNAP Income Limits, Deductions, and Allotments 

Background 
The allotment, deduction, and income amounts for the Supplemental Nutrition 
Assistance Program (SNAP) are adjusted as an annual cost-of-living adjustment 
(COLA) to reflect changes in the federal poverty level (FPL). 

Effective October 01, 2023, recent guidance from the Food and Nutrition Service 
(FNS) directs Texas HHSC to revise the following limits and amounts: 

● maximum SNAP income limits; 
● standard deduction; 
● maximum excess shelter deduction; 
● standard utility allowance (SUA); 
● basic utility allowance (BUA); 
● telephone standard; 
● homeless shelter deduction; and 
● SNAP allotments. 

Note: The standard medical expense (SME) deduction did not change. 

Current Policy 

SNAP 
Staff must use the SNAP income limits, deductions, and allotment amounts 
effective October 01, 2022 to determine eligibility for SNAP eligibility determination 
groups (EDGs). (TWH C-121, Maximum Income Limits; TWH C-121.1, Deduction 
Amounts; TWH C-1431, Whole Monthly Allotments by Household Size) 

New Policy 

SNAP 
Effective October 01, 2023, staff must use the following income limits, deductions, 
and allotment amounts to determine eligibility for SNAP EDGs. 

Maximum SNAP Income Limits (Effective October 01, 2023) 
Household Size Gross (130%) Net (100%) 165%** 

1 $1,580 $1,215 $2,005 
2 $2,137 $1,644 $2,712 
3 $2,694 $2,072 $3,419 
4 $3,250 $2,500 $4,125 
5 $3,807 $2,929 $4,832 
6 $4,364 $3,357 $5,539 
7 $4,921 $3,785 $6,246 

https://www.hhs.texas.gov/handbooks/texas-works-handbook/c-120-supplemental-nutrition-assistance-program#C121
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/handbooks/texas-works-handbook/c-120-supplemental-nutrition-assistance-program#C121.1
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/handbooks/texas-works-handbook/c-1430-snap-allotment-charts#C1431
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8 $5,478 $4,214 $6,952 
9 $6,035 $4,643 $7,659 

10 $6,592 $5,072 $8,366 
Each additional 
person + $557 + $429 + $707 

**The figures in the 165% column are used to determine if an elderly person with a 
disability living with others may claim separate household status even though the 
person purchases or prepares food with the others. The figures in this column are 
also the gross income limits for categorically eligible households. 

Standard or Maximum Deduction Amounts Effective October 01, 2023 

● Standard Deduction: 
o If household size is three or less — $198 
o If household size is four — $208 
o If household size is five — $244 
o If household size is six or more — $279 

● SME Deduction —$170 (minus $35) 
● Maximum Excess Shelter Deduction — $672 
● SUA — $424 
● BUA — $391 
● Telephone Standard — $60 
● Homeless Shelter Deduction — $179.66 

SNAP Allotment Amounts Effective October 1, 2023 
SNAP allotment charts providing the whole monthly allotments by household size 
are included as an attachment to this bulletin. The minimum monthly SNAP 
allotment for a one or two-person household remains $23. 

Policy for EDGs Processed After September Mass Update 

For the benefit month of:  eligibility is determined using the:  

September 2023 or earlier,  Previous income limits, standard 
deduction amount, maximum excess 
shelter deduction, SUA and BUA, 
telephone standard, homeless shelter 
deduction, and allotment amounts for 
determining that month’s benefits. 
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October 2023 and ongoing, Updated income limits, standard 
deduction amounts, maximum excess 
shelter deduction, SUA and BUA, 
telephone standard, homeless shelter 
deduction, and allotment amounts for 
determining that month's benefits. 

This includes households applying after 
September 15, 2023, who meet the 
combined allotment eligibility criteria. 
The updated 130% FPL amounts are 
used to notify a streamlined reporting 
household of the reporting requirement 
at application, recertification, or 
incomplete review when the action is 
disposed on or after  
October 1, 2023. * 

 *TIERS automatically uses the correct amounts for each month. 

Automation 
TIERS will update all active SNAP EDGs during the weekend of September 02, 
2023. The updated income limits, deductions, and allotments are budgeted in 
TIERS for benefit month October 2023 and ongoing. The appropriate income limits, 
deductions, and allotments are automatically applied for each benefit month, 
whether the benefit month is before or after the October COLA (including combined 
allotment situations). TIERS converts the benefit amount for SNAP EDGs in ongoing 
status without an override designation and produces a combined Form TF0001, 
Notice of Case Action, for any SNAP, TANF, or Medical Assistance (MA) EDG with a 
benefit change. 

Note: A TIERS exception report for EDGs not included in the mass update is 
distributed for staff action. EDGs not updated will receive an explanation of the 
October cost-of-living adjustment (COLA) on the next Form TF0001 produced for 
that EDG. 

Correspondence 
The following language will be included on the Form TF0001 for SNAP households 
with an increased or decreased allotment: 



MEPD and TW Bulletin 23-14 
Page 7 

Benefit amounts for many people have changed. This is due to new federal 
and state laws or rules. Changes go into effect October 1, 2023. 

Handbook 
Updates to the MEPDH are not required. 

The TWH is currently scheduled to be updated in the October 2023 revision. 

Training 
Training is not required. 

Effective Date 
The policy is effective beginning with the October 2023 benefit. 
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3. SNAP-CAP Allotments 

Background 
The shelter and allotment amount for Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program-
Combined Application Project (SNAP-CAP) are adjusted periodically to reflect 
changes in SNAP and SSI benefit levels. 

Effective October 01, 2023, recent guidance from the Food and Nutrition Service 
(FNS) directs Texas HHSC to adjust the SNAP-CAP allotment amounts to align with 
the recent changes from the federal cost-of-living adjustments (COLA). 

Current Policy 

SNAP-CAP 
SNAP-CAP recipients receive a standard allotment amount based on their monthly 
shelter expenses if monthly shelter expenses are: 

● Less than or equal to $440 per month, the monthly SNAP-CAP allotment is 
$134. 

● More than $440 per month, the monthly SNAP-CAP allotment is $223. (TWH 
B-475.1, Overview) 

New Policy 

SNAP-CAP 
Effective with the October 2023 benefit month, if monthly shelter expenses are: 

● Less than or equal to $440 per month, the monthly SNAP-CAP allotment is 
$144. 

● More than $440 per month, the monthly SNAP-CAP allotment is $233. 

Automation 
TIERS will update all active SNAP-CAP EDGs during the weekend of September 2, 
2023. The updated allotments are budgeted in TIERS for benefit month October 
2023 and ongoing. The appropriate allotments are automatically applied for each 
benefit month, whether the benefit month is before or after the October COLA 
(including combined allotment situations). TIERS converts the benefit amount for 
SNAP-CAP EDGs in ongoing status without an override designation and produces a 
Form H1843, Your SNAP-CAP Food Benefits Have Changed, for  the SNAP-CAP 
benefit change. 

Correspondence 
Form H1843 will be sent to all SNAP-CAP households and includes the following 
notice language: 

https://www.hhs.texas.gov/handbooks/texas-works-handbook/b-470-categorically-eligible-households#B475.1
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/handbooks/texas-works-handbook/b-470-categorically-eligible-households#B475.1
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/laws-regulations/forms/1000-1999/form-h1843-your-snap-cap-food-benefits-have-changed
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Due to Federal Law, your food benefits will change as of October 2023. 

● If you got $134 per month, you will now get $144 per month if your housing 
and utility costs together are less than $440 a month. 

● If you got $223 per month, you will now get $233 per month if your housing 
and utility costs together are $440 or more a month. 

Handbook 
Updates to the MEPDH are not required. 

The TWH is currently scheduled to be updated in the October 2023 revision. 

Training 
Training is not required. 

Effective Date 
This policy is effective beginning with the October 2023 benefit month. 
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4. Changes During the Certification Period 

Background 
The Food and Nutrition Service (FNS) published final rules establishing revised 
reporting requirements for SNAP households. It also modified when states should 
act on changes with the intent of reducing the number of requests for information 
for changes that are not required to report during the certification period. 

During the week of April 5, 2021, FNS completed a Local Program Access Review 
(PAR) Management Evaluation (ME) of the agency’s processes and procedures. 
During the PAR, FNS found that the agency’s current processes and procedures do 
not contain clear guidance for handling changes when all information is not 
available, as federally required. As a result, HHSC is modifying change related 
policy and processes to comply with the identified regulations. 

Current Policy 

SNAP 
Households are required to report specific types of changes during the certification 
period based on the Streamlined Reporting (SR) status assigned to them at 
certification or recertification. 

SR 1 households must report changes: 

● To residence and associated changes in shelter costs such as rent or 
mortgage and utilities; 

● When the ongoing gross monthly income exceeds 130 percent FPL for the 
household's size for two consecutive months; and 

● When the work or participation hours of an able-bodied adult without 
dependents (ABAWD) decrease below an average of 20 hours per week. 

SR 2 households must report changes: 

● To residence and associated changes in shelter costs such as rent or 
mortgage and utilities; and  

● When the work or participation hours of an ABAWD decrease below an 
average of 20 hours per week. 

SR 3 households must report changes:  

● In sources of income; 
● To household composition; 
● In ownership of a licensed vehicle; 
● In wage rate or status for employed household members; 
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● To residence and associated changes in shelter costs such as rent or 
mortgage and utilities; 

● When the household’s gross monthly household unearned income amount 
changes by more than $50; 

● Legal obligation of child support paid to or for a person outside the 
household; and 

● Available cash, stocks, bonds or money in a bank or savings account if the 
combined resources total is $5,000 or more.(TWH B-621, What to Report).  
 

Additionally, staff must act on all household-reported and agency-generated 
changes, except for changes reported during the last benefit month and changes 
to self-employment of less than $25 regardless of if it is a change the household 
is required to report. (TWH B-631, Action on Changes) If additional information 
is needed to process the change, staff are required to send Form H1020, 
Request for Information or Action, to request verification. (TWH B-640, Changes 
Affecting Benefits) 

New Policy 

SNAP 

Updated Reporting Requirements During the Certification Period 
The following policy changes are being made to update the types of changes 
household are required to report: 

● SR1 and SR2 households do not need to report changes to their residence or 
associated changes in shelter costs such as rent or mortgage and utilities. 
However, they must still report if they move out of Texas. 

● SR3 households must report when the household’s gross monthly household 
unearned income amount changes by more than $125. 

● All SNAP households must report lottery or gambling winnings greater than 
$4,250. 

The following chart summarizes the updated reporting requirements for each SR 
household status during the certification period. 

https://www.hhs.texas.gov/handbooks/texas-works-handbook/b-620-reporting-requirements#B621
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/handbooks/texas-works-handbook/b-630-processing-requirements#B631
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/regulations/forms/1000-1999/form-h1020-request-information-or-action
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/handbooks/texas-works-handbook/b-640-changes-affecting-benefits
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Streamlined Reporting Households 
(SR1 and SR2) 

Non-Streamlined Reporting 
Households (SR3) 

Household Composition 

Not required to report unless the 
addition of the new household 
member(s) results in the household’s 
ongoing gross monthly income 
exceeding 130 percent FPL. 

Household Composition 

Required to report any changes to the 
number of people in the household. 

Residence 

Required to report moves out of Texas. 

Residence 

Required to report a new physical 
address and associated changes in rent 
or mortgage and utilities. 

Child Support Expense 

Not required to report until 
redetermination. 

Child Support Expense 

Required to report any changes in the 
household’s legal obligation to pay child 
support. 

Resources 

Not required to report until 
redetermination. 

Resources 

Required to report: 

● The ownership of a licensed 
vehicle. 

● When the total amount of 
resources, such as money in 
bank accounts, stocks, bonds, or 
cash, exceeds the $5,000 
resource limit. 

Income 

Required to report: 

● Changes in income resulting in 
ongoing monthly gross income 
above 130 percent FPL for two 
consecutive months. 

Income 

Required to report: 

● Changes in unearned income 
greater than $125 per month. 
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Streamlined Reporting Households 
(SR1 and SR2) 

Non-Streamlined Reporting 
Households (SR3) 

● All lottery and gambling winnings 
of $4,250 or more in a single 
game. (Casinos, Lottery, Bingo, 
etc.). 

● Changes in the source of the 
household’s earned and 
unearned income. 

● All lottery and gambling winnings 
of $4,250 or more in a single 
game. (Casinos, Lottery, Bingo, 
etc.). 

Employment 

Required to report when any household 
member who is an ABAWD works or 
participates in a work program less 
than the required average of 20 hours 
per week, including all employment, 
self-employment, and any hours that 
count toward the work requirement. 

Employment 

Required to report any changes in: 

● Wages or pay rate of a household 
member. 

● Employment status (full-time to 
part-time or vice-versa as 
defined by the employer) of a 
household member. 

● Work program participation 
which results in an ABAWD 
participating less than the 
required average of 20 hours per 
week. 

Requesting Information During the Certification Period  
Staff must continue to act on all household-reported and agency-generated 
changes when all information is provided to process the change, regardless of if it is 
a change the household is required to report. 

If additional verification is needed to process the change, staff only send Form 
H1020 when: 

● The information is fewer than 60 days old at the time of report relative to the 
current benefit month. To calculate, count 60 days back from the first of the 
reported month; and 

● The household’s SR type requires the information to be reported. 

Note: If no wage information is received with a reported change of employment 
and staff cannot determine whether a SR household’s ongoing gross monthly 
income is above 130 percent FPL, send Form H1020. This applies to household-
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reported changes of employment and agency-generated changes, such as National 
Directory of New Hires (NDNH) reports. 

Staff must also send the Form H1020 regardless of the age of the information or SR 
status if information reported conflicts with information used to certify the 
household. This includes information that contradicts information provided at the 
time of the most recent certification during the application, redetermination, 
interview, or previous report of change. 

If a household or agency-generated change is reported and the Form H1020 is not 
required to be sent, document the reported change in the case record and verify 
the information reported at the next recertification. 

Exception: Staff must continue to pend for additional verification, if needed, when 
processing Prisoner and Death matches. (TWH B-631.2, Actions on Office of 
Inspector General (OIG) Match Action Alert Changes) 

Automation 
Automation changes are not required. 

Correspondence 
Changes to Form H1019, Report of Change, in TIERS will be implemented October 
14, 2023. 

Form H0070, Food Stamps Streamlined Reporting (Income Calculation Worksheet) 
will be retired as no longer in use in April 2024. 

Handbook 
Updates to the MEPDH are not required. 

The TWH is currently scheduled to be updated in the April 2024 revision. 

Training 
SNAP Basic Skills Training (BST) training will be updated to reflect the new policy 
for changes reporting during the certification period. 

Effective Date 
This policy is effective for changes processed on or after October 14, 2023. 

https://www.hhs.texas.gov/handbooks/texas-works-handbook/b-630-processing-requirements#B631.2
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/regulations/forms/1000-1999/form-h1019-report-change
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/regulations/forms/0-999/form-h0070-food-stamps-streamlined-reporting-income-calculation-worksheet
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5. New ABAWD Exceptions 

Background 
On June 3, 2023, President Joseph R. Biden signed into law H.R. 3746, the Fiscal 
Responsibility Act of 2023 (FRA) (P.L. 118-5). The bill expands the age criteria and 
creates new exception reasons for able-bodied adults without dependents 
(ABAWDs). Effective September 01, 2023, Texas Health and Human Services 
Commission (HHSC) must begin implementing the new ABAWD provisions included 
in the FRA. 

Current Policy 

SNAP 

ABAWD Exception Reasons 
Unless an exception criteria is met, ABAWDS are subject to a Federal Time Limit 
(FTL). The FTL initially limits ABAWDS to three months of SNAP eligibility in a 36-
month period. Any full month that an ABAWD does not meet an exception criteria, 
receives SNAP benefits, and is not meeting the work requirement is counted 
towards the FTL. (TWH A-1910, General Policy). 

A person meets criteria to receive an exception from the SNAP ABAWD work 
requirement if they: 

● are under the age of 18 or over the age of 49; 
● are pregnant; 
● are a member of a SNAP EDG where a household member on the SNAP EDG 

is under the age of 18; 
● are exempt from E&T registration; 
● live in a waiver area;  
● live in a SNAP non-E&T county; or 
● meet the criteria as being physically or mentally unfit to work. (TWH A-1942, 

Exemptions). 

Homeless Criteria 
Households are considered homeless when they have no regular nighttime 
residence or that live in a: 

● supervised shelter that provides temporary living quarters; 
● place not intended for regular sleeping quarters; or 
● temporary accommodation in another person's residence for 90 days or less. 

After 90 days in the same person's residence, the household is no longer 
considered homeless. (TWH Glossary H, Homeless Household) 

https://www.hhs.texas.gov/handbooks/texas-works-handbook/a-1910-general-policy
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/handbooks/texas-works-handbook/a-1940-snap-abawd-work-requirements#A1942
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/handbooks/texas-works-handbook/glossary#H
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New Policy 

SNAP 

ABAWD Exception Reasons 
In addition to the exceptions listed above, a person meets criteria to receive an 
exception from the SNAP ABAWD work requirement if they are considered: 

● A veteran; 
● Homeless; or 
● A youth who aged out of foster care. 

Homeless Criteria 
Households are considered homeless when they when they have no regular 
nighttime residence, or their primary nighttime residence is a: 

● Supervised shelter that provides temporary living quarters (such as a welfare 
hotel or congregate shelter); 

● Place not intended for regular sleeping quarters (such as a hallway, bus 
station, or lobby); 

● Halfway house or similar institution which provides temporary residence for 
people intended to be institutionalized; or 

● Temporary accommodation in another person’s residence for 90 days or less. 
After 90 days in the same person’s residence, the household is no longer 
considered homeless. 

Staff must indicate in TIERS if a household meets homeless exception criteria on 
the Living Arrangement/Domicile Logical Unit of Work (LUW) by selecting 
“Homeless” from the Living Arrangement Details, Living Arrangement Type 
dropdown. 

If the household’s statement is questionable, request the household provide 
verification. To verify, pend the household’s living arrangement by selecting “not 
verified” on the Living Arrangement/Domicile LUW. The following verification 
sources are acceptable: 

● Collateral contact with a homeless shelter or person the household is staying 
with; 

● A statement from any person aware of the household’s circumstances; or 
● Any other documentation which can reasonably verify the household’s 

circumstances. 
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Veteran Criteria 
A person is considered a veteran if they have served in the United States Armed 
Forces (such as Army, Marine Corps, Navy, Air Force, Space Force, Coast Guard, 
and National Guard), including a person who served in a reserve component of the 
Armed Forces and who was discharged or released, regardless of the conditions of 
their discharge or release. 

Staff must indicate in TIERS if a person meets veteran exception criteria on the 
Individual Demographics-SSN/Armed Services LUW by selecting “Yes” under 
the Veteran Information, Veteran? dropdown. 

If the household’s statement is questionable, send a manual Form H1020 
requesting verification of the household’s veteran status. If questionable, verify 
whether the person is a veteran using service department records such as: 

● A DD Form 214, Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty; 
● An original Certificate of Discharge; 
● A Report of Transfer or Discharge; 
● A military ID card indicating service in the armed forces; 
● A driver’s license indicating veteran status; 
● Correspondence or contact from the Department of Veteran Affairs, including 

benefit payment or award letter or VA ID Card or which indicates service in 
the armed forces; or 

● Any other documentation which can reasonably verify the person’s military 
status. 

Youth Aged out of Foster Care Criteria 
A person is considered a former foster care youth if they are age 24 or younger and 
were in foster care under the responsibility of any state, district, territory, or Indian 
Tribal Organization on the date they turn age 18. 

Staff must indicate in TIERS whether a person is considered a youth aged out of 
foster care by checking the existing answer for “Was the individual in Foster Care 
on their 18th birthday?” in the Individual-Editing Existing Individual 
Information LUW. If the existing answer is “yes,” staff should take no further 
action to grant the exception. 

If the existing answer is “No,” staff must follow the below steps to indicate the 
person is eligible for the exception. 

Using the drop downs options select: 
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1. “No” under the Was the individual in Foster Care on their 18th birthday? 
dropdown. 

2. “Foster Care Conservatorship” under the Type of Conservatorship dropdown. 
3. “User Research” under the Verification dropdown. 
4. “Not Applicable” under the Did the individual receive Non-Federal Match 

Foster Care Medicaid on their 18th birthday? dropdown. 

If the household’s statement is questionable, send a manual Form H1020 
requesting verification the person can be considered a youth aged out of foster 
care. Verify whether the person can be considered a youth aged out of foster care 
using: 

● Collateral contact from other social service workers or agencies, such as the 
agency administering the foster care program or Medicaid; 

● Information in TIERS which shows the person was in foster care as of their 
18th birthday or later; or 

● Any other documentation which can reasonably verify the person is a youth 
aged out of foster care. 

Note: Unless questionable, client statement is acceptable verification that a person 
meets the new exception criteria. If questionable and the household does not 
provide verification, do not deny SNAP for failure to provide verification but do not 
allow the exception. 

Automation 
Changes to TIERS are currently scheduled to be implemented with TIERS Release 
R116.0 on November 18, 2023. 

Until TIERS changes are implemented, if a person meets one of the new ABAWD 
exception criteria on or after September 01, 2023, staff should remove any ABAWD 
countable month accrued on or after September 01, 2023, when the ABAWD meets 
a new exception reason. Staff must override ABAWD countable months using the 
Success Express-Correcting ABAWD Countable Months found in the Job Aid 
Repository on the LOOP. 

Correspondence 
Changes to the SNAP work rules language on the TF0001, Notice of Case Action, 
will be implemented November 18, 2023. 

Handbook 
Updates to the MEPDH are not required. 

https://txhhs.sharepoint.com/sites/aes-ops/support/qm/fp/EO%20Job%20Aids/Success%20Express%20-%20Correcting%20ABAWD%20Countable%20Months.pdf


MEPD and TW Bulletin 23-14 
Page 19 

The TWH is currently scheduled to be updated in the April 2024 revision. 

Training 
Training is not required. 

Effective Date 
This policy is effective for applications, redeterminations, and changes received on 
or after September 01, 2023. 
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6. New ABAWD Age Criteria 

Background 
On June 3, 2023, President Joseph R. Biden signed into law H.R. 3746, the Fiscal 
Responsibility Act of 2023 (FRA) (P.L. 118-5). The bill expands the age criteria and 
creates new exception reasons for able-bodied adults without dependents 
(ABAWDs). Effective September 01, 2023, Texas Health and Human Services 
Commission (HHSC) must begin implementing the new ABAWD provisions included 
in the FRA. 

Current Policy 

SNAP 
Unless an exception criteria is met, ABAWDS are subject to a Federal Time Limit 
(FTL). The FTL initially limits ABAWDS to three months of SNAP eligibility in a 36-
month period. Any full month that an ABAWD does not meet an exception criteria, 
receives SNAP benefits, and is not meeting the work requirement is counted 
towards the FTL. (TWH A-1910, General Policy) 

ABAWD work requirement policy: 

● Applies the month after a person turns age 18; and 
● Does not apply in the month a person turns age 50. (TWH A-1940, SNAP 

Work Requirements) 

New Policy 

SNAP 
ABAWD work requirement policy applies the month after a person turns age 18; 
and: 

● Effective Sept. 1, 2023, does not apply in the month a person turns age 51. 
● Effective Oct. 1, 2023, does not apply in the month a person turns age 53. 
● Effective Oct. 1, 2024, does not apply in the month a person turns age 55. 

Note: Although the policy is changing, HHSC is using a federal option to exempt 
ABAWDs from the work requirement if they are currently over the age of 50. There 
is no staff action needed to exempt these individuals. Staff will be notified through 
a future bulletin when the federal option is no longer being used and automation 
changes to the ABAWD age criteria are implemented in TIERS. 

Automation 

Automation changes are not required. 

https://www.hhs.texas.gov/handbooks/texas-works-handbook/a-1910-general-policy
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/handbooks/texas-works-handbook/a-1940-snap-abawd-work-requirements
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Correspondence 
Changes to the SNAP work rules language on the TF0001, Notice of Case Action, 
will be implemented November 18, 2023. 

Handbook 
Updates to the MEPDH are not required. 

The TWH is currently scheduled to be updated in the April 2024 revision. 

Training 
Training is not required. 

Effective Date 
This policy is effective September 01, 2023. 
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7. Transfer of Assets Divisor 

Background 
Transfer of assets policy applies when assets are transferred by a person who resides 
in an institutional setting or is receiving home and community-based waiver services 
through a Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) waiver, or by the person’s 
spouse or someone else acting on the person’s behalf. There is a 60-month "look-
back" period to find transfers of assets prior to the date the person is institutionalized 
or, if later, the date the person applies for Medicaid. If a transfer of assets for less 
than fair market value is found, Medicaid must withhold payment for nursing facility 
care (and certain other long-term care services) for a period of time referred to as 
the penalty period. 

Current Policy 

MEPD 
The current transfer of assets divisor is $237.93. Use $237.93 to determine the 
penalty period for case actions disposed on or after September 01, 2021, and 
through August 31, 2023. Partial amounts should be rounded down to the whole 
number of days. The result will be the number of days of the penalty period. 
(MEPDH I-5100, Transfer of Assets Divisor). 

New Policy 

MEPD 
The updated transfer of assets divisor is $242.13. Use $242.13 to determine the 
penalty period for case actions disposed on or after September 01, 2023. Partial 
amounts should be rounded down to the whole number of days. The result will be 
the number of days of the penalty period. 

Automation 
Changes to YourTexasBenefits.com were implemented with TIERS Release R115.1 
on August 05, 2023. The new transfer of assets divisor is updated in TIERS for 
benefit month September 2023 and ongoing. 

Correspondence 
Correspondence changes are not required. 

Handbook 
The MEPDH is currently scheduled to be updated in the September 2023 revision. 

Updates to the TWH are not required. 

https://www.hhs.texas.gov/handbooks/medicaid-elderly-people-disabilities-handbook/i-5000-calculation-penalty-period
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Training 
MEPD Basic Skills Training (BST) training will be updated with the updated 2023 
divisor amount. 

Effective Date 
This policy is effective September 01, 2023. 
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8. Revised - Application Process Updates for Marketplace Account 
Transfers 

Background 
Federal law requires HHSC to coordinate eligibility and enrollment determinations 
with the federal Marketplace (HealthCare.gov). Individuals cannot be required to 
provide the same information more than once, regardless of whether they apply 
through the Marketplace or through an application with HHSC. Information the 
applicant submitted to the Marketplace and information on any verifications 
performed by the Marketplace is sent through an interface to HHSC. This is referred 
to as an account transfer. 

Current Policy 

Medical Programs 
HHSC eligibility staff process account transfers from the Marketplace. The 
applications are reviewed by staff in the same manner as an application from 
YourTexasBenefits.com. (TWH A-118.1, Applications Received from the 
Marketplace). 

If the account transfer indicates that an applicant’s SSN and/or citizenship status 
has been verified by the Social Security Administration (SSA) or alien status has 
been verified by the Department from Homeland Security (DHS), staff must accept 
these eligibility criteria as verified. Other eligibility criteria must be verified 
following HHSC verification procedures. If the Marketplace has verified data 
according to HHSC procedures, that data must not be re-verified. (TWH A-118.1.2, 
Verifications Provided by the Marketplace). 

MEPD 
Non-MAGI account transfers occur when the Marketplace determines that an 
applicant may be eligible for an MEPD program because the applicant indicates they 
are age 65 or older, have a disability, or blindness. 

If the PDF included in the Marketplace account transfer indicates “Medicaid Non-
MAGI Eligibility” in the “Referral Activity Eligibility Reason” for an individual on the 
application, a full determination is not requested and no MAGI eligibility 
determination is listed for any other applicant on the application, eligibility staff 
must deny the application as “Filed in Error” and send the applicant a Form H1200, 
Application for Assistance-Your Texas Benefits. However, if the Marketplace does 
not identify an individual as potentially eligible for Medicaid on any basis, the 
individual can request that his or her account be transferred to the state agency for 
a final MAGI eligibility determination. (TWH A-118.1.1, Non-MAGI Account 
Transfers) 

https://www.hhs.texas.gov/handbooks/texas-works-handbook/a-110-application-procedures#A118.1
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/handbooks/texas-works-handbook/a-110-application-procedures#A118.1.2
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/regulations/forms/1000-1999/form-h1200-application-assistance-your-texas-benefits
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/handbooks/texas-works-handbook/a-110-application-procedures#A118.1.1
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New Policy 

Medical Programs 
Staff must process non-MAGI Marketplace account transfers in the same manner as 
an application received through YourTexasBenefits.com without requiring the 
individual to submit an H1200. 

If a non-MAGI account transfer indicates that an applicant’s SSN and/or citizenship 
status has been verified by SSA or alien status has been verified by the DHS, staff 
must accept these eligibility criteria as verified. Other eligibility criteria must be 
verified following current HHSC verification procedures. If the Marketplace has 
verified data according to HHSC policies, that data must not be re-verified. (TWH A-
118.1.1 and MEPD B-3100, Application Process). 

Process Updates  
A non-MAGI Marketplace account transfer must be processed in the same manner 
as a MAGI Marketplace account transfer.  

An updated Processing Marketplace Account Transfers Reference Guide can be 
found in the Job Aid Repository (JAR) on the LOOP. The standalone Processing a 
Non-MAGI Account Transfer guide is retired. 

Automation 
Effective September 11, 2023, when an account transfer identifies an individual as 
non-MAGI, the data is used to automatically populate a PDF version of the Form 
H1200, Application for Assistance-Your Texas Benefits, the Form H1010, Texas 
Works Application for Assistance – Your Texas Benefits, or both, to be processed by 
eligibility staff.  

Effective October 14, 2023, data transferred from the Marketplace into TIERS will 
be used to create a case, perform file clearance, and associate individuals found in 
the system. In addition, the system will automatically pend or dispose Marketplace 
applications. 

Correspondence 
Correspondence changes are not required. 

Handbook 
The MEPDH is scheduled to be updated in the March 2024 revision. 

The TWH is scheduled to be updated in April 2024 revision. 

https://www.hhs.texas.gov/handbooks/medicaid-elderly-people-disabilities-handbook/b-3100-application-process
https://txhhs.sharepoint.com/sites/aes-ops/support/qm/fp/EO%20Job%20Aids/Forms/AllItems.aspx?id=%2Fsites%2Faes%2Dops%2Fsupport%2Fqm%2Ffp%2FEO%20Job%20Aids%2FProcessing%20Marketplace%20Account%20Transfers%20Reference%20Guide%2Epdf&parent=%2Fsites%2Faes%2Dops%2Fsupport%2Fqm%2Ffp%2FEO%20Job%20Aids
https://txhhs.sharepoint.com/sites/aes-ops/support/qm/fp/EO%20Job%20Aids/Forms/Sorted%20by%20Category.aspx
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/regulations/forms/1000-1999/form-h1200-application-assistance-your-texas-benefits
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/regulations/forms/1000-1999/form-h1200-application-assistance-your-texas-benefits
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Training 
The Marketplace Account Transfers Guide will be available for staff in the Job Aid 
Repository (JAR) located in the LOOP effective September 11, 2023. A training 
broadcast is scheduled to be sent out on October 05, 2023. 

Effective Date 
This policy is effective for non-MAGI account transfers received on or after 
September 11, 2023. 
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