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How to Apply to Be a Medicaid Waiver Program Contractor 

Our process for applying has changed. Please follow our instructions below to 
ensure your application is reviewed.   

What do I need to do to apply?  

 
1. You must be enrolled in Texas Medicaid. If you’re not enrolled before 

you apply, your application will be denied. Enroll through the Texas Medicaid 
& Healthcare Partnership (TMHP) Provider Enrollment Management System 
(PEMS). To learn more or apply, visit: 

 
• How to Apply for Enrollment - TMHP 
• PEMS LTC - YouTube 
• HHSC Medicaid Provider Enrollment Requirement 

 
2. You must complete the Provider Applicant Competency training 

(PAT) exam with a passing score of 85% or above. After you’ve 
completed the PAT, download the certificate showing your passing score.  

 
Any application submitted without a certification showing completion of the 
PAT with a passing score will not be accepted.  
 

• Do not apply without a completed PAT exam.  
• Do not apply with a failing PAT exam score.  
• If you fail the PAT exam, you can retake the exam after a period of six 

months. You are only allowed one attempt every six months.  

You can find and take the PAT exam by clicking here.  

If you’ve failed the exam before, you can request additional resources to help 
you study. Email us at IDDWaiverContractEnrollment@hhsc.state.tx.us. 
 

3. Fill out Form 5873. This application is only available online. If you need 
help, we have resources on our website, including instructions on how to 
download and fill out forms. Include your PAT exam certificate with 
your application packet. 
 

https://nam12.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.tmhp.com%2Ftopics%2Fprovider-enrollment%2Fhow-apply-enrollment&data=05%7C01%7CEsther.Perales-Balderas%40hhs.texas.gov%7Cb690075a69c240600ce608daad4583ae%7C9bf9773282b9499bb16aa93e8ebd536b%7C0%7C0%7C638012811319485163%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=2Mt06kNLC%2FRsx%2B8XGM7zYFm0yeCSWLxkwY34eRi6SyQ%3D&reserved=0
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yKjEmrQPIwY&list=PLIe60BLvrbETbsHtKqwWrcvMmJ_6MH9n-&index=12
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/providers/medicaid-provider-enrollment
https://learningportal.hhs.texas.gov/index.php?
mailto:IDDWaiverContractEnrollment@hhsc.state.tx.us
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/regulations/forms/5000-5999/form-5873-waiver-community-based-programs-services-medicaid-chip-services-contract-application
https://hhs.texas.gov/laws-regulations/forms
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Mail your application to the Waiver Program Enrollment Team 

Send to this address: 

HHSC 
Contract Administration and Provider Monitoring 

Mail Code W-359 
P.O. Box 149030 

Austin, TX 78714-9030 

Applicants can also submit applications by email: 
IDDWaiverContractEnrollment@hhsc.state.tx.us or by fax: 512-206-3916.  

4. Correct any errors found on your application. A contract manager will 
review your application and identify any errors or deficiencies. If any are 
found, you’ll receive a suspense letter and will be given 30 days to correct 
and resubmit documents.  

Are there any licenses I need for my application?  

The following contract types require a Home & Community Support Services 
Agencies (HCSSA) License:  

• Hospice. 
• Community Living Assistance and Support Services (CLASS-continued family 

services)  
• CLASS-support family services 
• CLASS-direct service agency 
• Deaf Blind Multiple Disabilities (DBMD) 

If you need an HCSSA license, you can call the Licensing and Certification Unit at 
512-438-2630. Or you can visit our web page. 

You don’t need an HCSSA license to apply for or get a contract to provide Home 
and Community-based Services (HCS) and Texas Home Living (TxHmL) services.  
 
My application was denied. Can I reapply? 

 
Yes, but you must retake the PAT and submit a new application after a period of six 
months from the previous attempt. DO NOT submit a copy of the previously denied 
application.  

mailto:IDDWaiverContractEnrollment@hhsc.state.tx.us
https://hhs.texas.gov/doing-business-hhs/provider-portals/long-term-care-providers/home-community-support-services-agencies/how-become-a-licensed-hcssa-provider
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You can avoid having your application denied by:  
• Making sure you provide all the required forms.  

• Responding to requests for application corrections by the due date (within 
30 calendar days of receiving a suspense letter). 
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