HCBS-AMH Critical Incident Report

What is a Critical Incident?

Critical incidents are situations that threaten the health and safety of the individual
or the community or pose a significant change in the individual’s status or
environment. The incidents result in substantial disruption of HCBS-AMH program
operation involving or potentially affecting program participants HCBS-AMH
Provider Manual (Section 15631, HCBS-AMH Provider Manual) lists examples where
participants are being prevented or deterred from engaging in program services.
These include but are not limited to abuse, neglect, or exploitation (ANE); medical
or psychiatric emergency and/or hospitalization; medication errors; judicial system
involvement; restraint; death; and departure or eviction of participant from primary
residence.

What immediate actions providers must take in the event of a critical
incident?

Providers’ immediate response to an incident shall always focus on safety, health,
and welfare of the participant and everyone else involved in the incident. For life
threatening situations, provider shall call 911 and seek all necessary care and
assistance from medical or emergency personnel. HCBS-AMH providers are
expected to take immediate actions to resolve the incident, when feasible, and to
report to the appropriate state and/or law enforcement entities.

How are Critical Incidents reported?

HCBS-AMH PA and HCBS-AMH RME are required to notify all critical incidents online
via Clinical Management for Behavioral Health Services (CMBHS). In case of an
error in online reporting, provider may use HCBS-AMH CIR Form 3007 and share it
at HCBS AMH CIR mailbox HCBS-AMH.CIR@hhs.texas.gov. Critical incidents
reported by the CIR form, telephone, or email must be followed by incident
reporting in CMBHS.

If you suspect a participant has been abused, neglected, or exploited by a service
provider or a volunteer, call the Department of Family and Protective Services
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(DFPS) Statewide Intake at 800-252-5400 or make a report online through their
secure Texas Abuse Hotline Website.

Is there a time frame for reporting critical incident?

The RM or HCBS-AMH Provider Agency must complete and submit a critical incident
report within 72 hours of notification of an incident to HHSC and updates may be
required over time to document progress and outcome. (See HCBS-AMH Provider
Manual, Critical Incidents Reporting for additional ANE reporting requirements.)

What is the time frame for reporting ANE incident?

The timeframe for registering ANE complaint with DFPS is within one hour of
incident or learning the incident. The PA and/or RME will also report ANE incidents
to HCBS-AMH within 72 hours via critical incident form.

What is the process for reporting misuse of social security benefits or food
stamps?

Suspected misuse of Social Security benefits like Supplemental Security Income by
a representative payee or by an HCBS-AMH service provider are to be registered
with Office of Inspector General (OIG), Social Security Administration via
telephone: 1-800-269-0271 or Online: OIG Fraud Hotline.

Complaints related to provider extorting money from participants receiving HCBS
services or misuse of food stamps will be reported by calling the OIG, Texas Health
and Human Services Toll-free Line at 1-800-436-6184 or submitting a referral
online: Report Fraud, Waste or Abuse. It is also important to register exploitation
complaint with DFPS and HCBS-AMH.

Are providers required to develop a policy on critical incident and ANE
reporting?

The providers shall develop, implement, and enforce a written critical incident and
ANE policy. The critical incident policy must establish procedures for providers to
identify, report and respond to critical incidents. A written ANE policy will ensure all
employees and service providers receive training and demonstrate a thorough
understanding of the relevant elements of identifying, reporting, investigating, and
preventing ANE prior to contact with the participant.
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Are providers required to undertake training specific to critical incidents?

Yes, the providers are required to undertake trainings on critical incident, ANE, and
Restrictive Interventions at hire and renewed annually

What training resources are available for critical incident reporting?

HHSC offers following free training resources at Centralized Training Infrastructure
(CTI):

e Critical Incident Reporting — an online training program at CTI

e Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation — an online training program CTI

e Restrictive Intervention - an online training program at CTI
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