
MEPD and TW Bulletin 22-02 

Date: February 01, 2022 

To: Eligibility Services Supervisors and Staff 
Program Managers 
Regional Directors 
Regional Attorneys 
Hearings Officers 

From: Access and Eligibility Services Program Policy 
State Office 2115 

Subject:
 

1. COVID 19 Update: Additional Emergency Allotment 
Supplement 

2. COVID-19 Update: Processing Denial Actions for Medicaid 
Programs 

3. Medicaid for Inmates of Juvenile Institutions 
4. Mileage Rate Increase

 

The information in this bulletin will be included in a future handbook revision. Until 
the handbook is updated, staff must use the information in this bulletin. If you have 
any questions regarding the policy information in this bulletin, follow regional 
procedures. 

Active bulletins are posted on the following websites: 

● Medicaid for the Elderly and People with Disabilities Handbook (MEPDH) at 
https://hhs.texas.gov/laws-regulations/handbooks/mepd/policy-bulletins; 

● Texas Works Handbook (TWH) at http://hhs.texas.gov/laws-
regulations/handbooks/texas-works-handbook/texas-works-bulletins. 

  

https://hhs.texas.gov/laws-regulations/handbooks/mepd/policy-bulletins
http://hhs.texas.gov/laws-regulations/handbooks/texas-works-handbook/texas-works-bulletins
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1. COVID-19 Update: Additional Emergency Allotment Supplement 

Background 
On Jan. 27, 2020, the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services declared that a public health emergency exists nationwide due to the novel 
coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak. Additionally, on March 13, 2020, Governor Greg 
Abbott also declared a state of disaster for all counties in Texas due to the COVID-
19 outbreak. HHSC is providing the following temporary guidance regarding policies 
and procedures for processing case actions during the COVID-19 public health 
emergency. 

COVID-19 Policy 

Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) 
HHSC has been granted approval from the Food and Nutrition Service (FNS) to 
issue February 2022 Emergency Allotment (EA) supplements to participating SNAP 
households. Households who are approved for SNAP in February 2022 will 
automatically be issued supplements that will bring the household up to the 
maximum monthly allotment for the household’s size. All SNAP households will 
receive a minimum of $95 in EA supplements. 

All EA supplements will be automatically issued on the SNAP household’s existing 
EBT card. SNAP households do not need to take any action to receive EA 
supplements. 

HHSC will issue EA supplements for February, on a randomized staggered schedule 
starting Feb. 2, 2022. The expected completion of February EA supplement 
issuance for active SNAP households is Feb. 8, 2022. Households who are 
determined eligible for SNAP after Feb. 8, 2022 will be issued their supplement 
within approximately 60 days from disposition. Staff should call in a ticket when the 
SNAP household reports not receiving the supplement by that timeframe. 

TIERS will add the following case comment “COVID-19 SNAP supplements issued” 
for a case where the EA supplement was issued. HHSC will not be sending a notice 
to households regarding the EA supplement. 

Additionally, during the pandemic, Quality Control and other case reading reviews 
will continue to ensure accuracy. Although SNAP households will receive a minimum 
of $95 in EA supplements, staff must still ensure regular monthly benefits are 
calculated correctly when processing any case actions. 
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Automation 
February EA supplements for active SNAP households are expected to be issued 
between Feb. 2, 2022, and Feb. 8, 2022. Households who are determined eligible 
for SNAP after Feb. 8, 2022 will be issued their February EA supplement within 
approximately 60 days from disposition. 

Correspondence 
Correspondence changes are not required. 

Handbook 
Handbook updates are not required. 

Training 
Training is not required. 

Effective Date  
This policy is effective with the release of this bulletin. Staff will be notified when 
the COVID-19 policy and clarifications no longer apply. 
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2. COVID-19 Update: Processing Denial Actions for Medicaid 
Programs 

Background 
On January 27, 2020, the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services declared that a public health emergency exists nationwide due to the novel 
coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak. Additionally, on March 13, 2020, Governor Greg 
Abbott also declared a state of disaster for all counties in Texas due to the COVID-
19 outbreak. HHSC is providing the following temporary guidance regarding policies 
and procedures for processing case actions during the COVID-19 public health 
emergency. 

COVID-19 Policy 

Medical Programs 
Guidance previously issued in the following MEPD and Texas Works Bulletins 
provided staff with policy and processes for case actions that would result in a 
denial of active Medicaid EDGs. 

● MEPD and Texas Works Bulletin 20-4, Item #6 Processing Case Actions for 
Medical Programs, released on March 23, 2020; 

● MEPD and Texas Works Bulletin 20-06, Item #3 Maintaining Medicaid 
Coverage, released on April 7, 2020;  

● MEPD and Texas Works Bulletin 20-10, Item #4 Update: Processing Case 
Actions for Medicaid Programs, released on April 28, 2020;  

● MEPD and Texas Works Bulletin 20-13, Item #1 Update: Processing Case 
Actions for Medicaid Programs, released on May 12, 2020; and 

● MEPD and Texas Works Bulletin 21-07, Item #1 COVID-19 Update: 
Processing Denial Actions for Medicaid Programs, released on April 8, 2021. 

This update replaces the previous guidance for allowable Medicaid denials during 
the COVID-19 public health emergency. Revisions have been made to the override 
instructions.  

H.R. 6201 (Families First Coronavirus Response Act), requires states to maintain 
Medicaid coverage until the end of the month in which the COVID-19 public health 
emergency ends for certain recipients who were active or certified for Medicaid as 
of or after March 18, 2020, unless the person: 

● voluntarily withdraws; 
● dies; or 
● moves out of state. 
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Based on guidance provided by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 
(CMS), states are not required to maintain Medicaid for persons who are not validly 
enrolled. 

The following Medicaid recipients are not considered validly enrolled: 

● a person certified in error; or 
● a person who the Office of Inspector General (OIG) has determined 

fraudulently received Medicaid and coverage should be denied. 

Staff must deny Medicaid during the COVID-19 public health emergency when it is 
discovered an initial determination of eligibility was incorrect at the time it was 
made due to agency error or when notified by OIG that a Medicaid recipient was 
convicted of fraud. 

This policy does not apply to redeterminations processed on or after March 18, 
2020. 

Staff must follow advance notice of adverse action procedures prior to terminating 
benefits for persons not considered validly enrolled (TWH A-2343.1, How to Take 
Adverse Action if Advance Notice is Required, and MEPDH B-8420, Notification of 
Changes as a Result of Redetermination). To ensure appropriate termination of 
Medicaid benefits, staff must follow the override instructions listed in the “Staff 
Procedures for Denying Medicaid” section below. 

Staff Procedures for Denying Medicaid 
Follow the instructions below to override a Medicaid EDG to process a denial 
because the recipient was certified in error or a fraud determination was received: 

● Click on the EDG Override Summary tab; 
● Click for the correct Medicaid EDG month (for multiple Medicaid months, start 

with the earliest month and work forward); 
● The EDG Override Details page is displayed. From the EDG Status drop-down 

menu, select Deny; 
◊ Enter “CMS-OIG Fraud Determination” in the Override Reason box if 

the case is being denied because OIG determined the person 
fraudulently received Medicaid. 

◊ Enter “CMS-Certified in Error” in the Override Reason box if the case is 
being denied because the person was certified in error. 

● Select the appropriate reason “No eligible members” from the Disposition 
Reason drop-down menu; 

https://www.hhs.texas.gov/handbooks/texas-works-handbook/a-2340-adverse-action
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/handbooks/medicaid-elderly-people-disabilities-handbook/b-8400-procedures-redetermining-eligibility
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● Click  and then click  . Follow current Second Level Review 
(SLR) processes; and 

● Document in Case Comments “Using instructions provided in MEPD and 
Texas Works Bulletin 22-02 to deny Medicaid for <enter actual denial reason 
here, “Certified in Error” or “Fraud Determination”>. Ensure each subsequent 
disposition maintains the use of these instructions”. 

Automation 
Automation changes are not required. 

Correspondence 
Correspondence changes are not required. 

Handbook 
Handbook updates are not required. 

Training 
Training is not required. 

Effective Date  
This policy is effective with the release of this bulletin. Staff will be notified when 
the COVID-19 policy and clarifications no longer apply. 
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3. Medicaid for Inmates of Juvenile Institutions 

Background 
The Texas Juvenile Justice Department (TJJD) and county-level Juvenile Probation 
Departments (JPDs) pay for inpatient medical services provided to inmates in a 
hospital or medical care facility using state or county-level funds. Federal law 
prohibits Medicaid federal funding for services provided to an inmate of a public 
institution, except when an inmate receives inpatient services in a medical 
institution for at least 24 hours.  

House Bill (H.B.) 1664, passed by the 87th Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 
2021, requires the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) to 
provide Medicaid coverage to inmates of juvenile facilities who receive inpatient 
medical services for at least 24 hours in a hospital or other non-penal medical 
facility. 

Current Policy 

TW Medicaid 
An inmate of a public institution operated by the Texas Department of Criminal 
Justice (TDCJ) who receives inpatient medical services for at least 24 hours may 
receive prior Medicaid coverage for the dates of service if all other eligibility criteria 
are met. (TWH B-541, Inpatient Services Provided to Inmates of the Texas 
Department of Criminal Justice (TDCJ)) 

Medicaid may be suspended and reinstated for a child between the ages of 6 to 18 
who is placed in a juvenile public institution upon notification by TJJD or a JPD. 
(TWH B-543 Child Placed in a Juvenile Facility) A child who is placed in a juvenile 
public institution (TJJD or JPD) cannot receive Medicaid coverage for inpatient 
medical services.  

New Policy 

TW Medicaid 
In addition to inmates residing in TDCJ facilities, children placed in a public 
institution operated by TJJD or a JPD who receive inpatient medical services for at 
least 24 hours may receive prior Medicaid coverage for the dates of service. The 
child must be otherwise eligible for Medicaid. 

New Process 
TJJD submits applications on behalf of children placed in a juvenile public institution 
who receive inpatient medical services for at least 24 hours via 
YourTexasBenefits.com using designated Community Partner Identification 

https://www.hhs.texas.gov/laws-regulations/handbooks/twh/part-b-case-management/section-500-medical-coverage-people-confined-a-public-institution#B541
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/laws-regulations/handbooks/twh/part-b-case-management/section-500-medical-coverage-people-confined-a-public-institution#B541
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numbers. Inpatient services must be provided by a hospital that is not on the 
premises of a prison, jail, detention center or other penal setting, including a facility 
run by a private health care entity. These applications are routed to and processed 
only by HHSC Centralized Benefit Services (CBS) staff and only as prior Medicaid for 
the dates of service. 

If an application from TJJD is inadvertently assigned to a location other than CBS, 
do not perform Application Registration. Follow current instructions found in the 
Eligibility Operations Procedures Manual (EOPM) for reassignment. 

In addition to completing the YourTexasBenefits.com online application, TJJD 
provides: 

● Form H1046, Inpatient Medical Services Certification, signed by the medical 
provider, for all applications. The child’s attending practitioner completes 
Form H1046 to document the dates of the TDCJ, TJJD, or JPD inmate’s 
inpatient care; 

● Form H3038, Emergency Medical Services Certification, signed by the 
medical provider, if the child is ineligible for regular Medicaid due to 
citizenship or immigration status and requires treatment for an emergency 
condition; 

● documentation that TJJD has the authority to act as the child’s authorized 
representative following policy in TWH A-170, Authorized Representatives; 
and 

● all required verification. 

If eligible, the child is certified for prior Medicaid coverage for the dates of service 
provided on the Form H1046. If the child is eligible for Emergency Medicaid, they 
are certified for the dates indicated on the Form H3038. If the child has an existing 
case in TIERS, perform Application Registration to ensure the prior Medicaid 
coverage is certified on a separate EDG from the household’s case with a 
designated TJJD staff person listed as the authorized representative. 

Do not: 

● associate Medicaid cases for a TJJD/JPD inmate with any other case in TIERS; 
or  

● assign a new client number. 

Note: The TJJD or JPD inmate is the only person in the budget and certified group. 

https://www.hhs.texas.gov/regulations/forms/1000-1999/form-h1046-inpatient-medical-services-certification
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/regulations/forms/3000-3999/form-h3038-emergency-medical-services-certification
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/handbooks/texas-works-handbook/a-170-authorized-representatives
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Automation 
Changes to the DG-017, OES CBO Data Report, located in DataMart to capture data 
on this population are currently scheduled to be implemented with TIERS Release 
R111.2 on February 26, 2022. The report will be updated to include dates of 
service, which is not currently captured for community partners. 

Correspondence 
Changes to Form H1046, Inpatient Medical Services Certification, were 
implemented on January 4, 2022. 

Handbook 
Updates to the MEPDH are not required.  

The TWH is currently scheduled to be updated in the July 2022 revision. 

Training 
Training is not required. 

Effective Date  
This policy is effective March 1, 2022. Medicaid coverage for this population can be 
requested for dates of service on or after December 1, 2021. 



MEPD and TW Bulletin 22-02 
   Page 10 

4. Mileage Rate Increase 

Background 
On December 17, 2021, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) issued the standard 
mileage reimbursement rate for 2022. The mileage rate is revised for state travel 
based on the current IRS rate. 

Households may claim deductions for transportation expenses related to self-
employment for all programs and medical costs for SNAP. (MEPDH E-6210, Self-
Employment Expenses, TWH A-1323.4.5, Allowable Costs of Producing Income, and 
TWH A-1428.1, Allowable Medical Expenses) 

Current Policy 

All Programs 
The mileage rate for 2021 is 56 cents per mile.  

New Policy 

All Programs 
The mileage rate for 2022 is 58.5 cents per mile.  

Automation 
Automation changes are not required 

Correspondence 
Correspondence changes are not required. 

Handbook 

The MEPDH is currently scheduled to be updated in the June revision. 

The TWH is currently scheduled to be updated in the April revision. 

Training 
Training is not required. 

Effective Date  
This policy is effective for all case actions disposed on or after March 1, 2022.  

 

https://www.hhs.texas.gov/handbooks/medicaid-elderly-people-disabilities-handbook/e-6000-self-employment-income#E6210
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/handbooks/texas-works-handbook/a-1300-income#A1323-4-5
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/handbooks/texas-works-handbook/a-1400-deductions#A1428.1
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