Reference Guide

The Pink Book, newly retitled the Texas Medicaid and CHIP Reference Guide, provides an overview of the Texas Medicaid and CHIP programs. This 12th edition underwent a complete redesign, with five new chapters targeted at answering central questions about Texas Medicaid/CHIP:

  • Chapter 1: Who can get Medicaid/CHIP and how can they get it?
  • Chapter 2: What are the programs and services available to Texans?
  • Chapter 3: How does HHSC make sure clients get good care?
  • Chapter 4: What are the financial features of Medicaid/CHIP?
  • Chapter 5: What is Medicaid/CHIP's governing framework?

12th Edition, December 2018

11th Edition, February 2017


Email questions to