Listed below are the required qualifications for health care facilities.

The CRS program manager will verify the required qualifications of health care facilities in ReHabWorks.

For questions about certification or licensure of health care facilities, contact the CRS central office program manager.

Table: Health Care Facilities – Required Qualifications

Health Care Facility


Required Qualifications

General hospital

Provides inpatient and outpatient hospital services.

A current contract with the CRS program and:

  • Medicare certification;
  • accreditation by the Joint Commission for Accreditation of Health Care Organizations (JCAHO); or
  • accreditation by the American Osteopathic Association.

General or specialty hospital providing inpatient comprehensive medical rehabilitation services

Provides inpatient comprehensive medical rehabilitation services.

A current contract with the CRS program, and:

  • licensure by the Texas Department of State Health Services for comprehensive medical rehabilitation services, unless exempt by law (for example, University of Texas Medical Branch);
  • accreditation by the JCAHO; or
  • accreditation by the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF). CARF accreditation must be as a:
    • "Medical Rehabilitation Program—Comprehensive Inpatient Category One" if accredited before July 1, 1998; or
    • "Comprehensive Integrated Inpatient Rehabilitation Program" if accredited July 1, 1998, or later.

Ambulatory surgical center

Primarily provides surgical services to patients who do not require overnight hospital care.

Requires a:

  • Current licensure as an "ambulatory surgical center" by the Texas Department of State Health Services; or
  • Accreditation by the American Association for Accreditation of Ambulatory Surgery Facilities.

Nursing home

Provides nursing home or convalescent care.

Licensed by the Nursing Home division of Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services.

Approved by Medicare and Medicaid.