Downloading a Form to Your Computer

Fillable forms cannot be viewed on mobile or tablet devices. Follow the steps below to download and view the form on a desktop PC or Mac.

  1. Right Click for PC or Ctrl + Click for Mac on the PDF link and click “Save link as” from the menu.
  2. Select the folder you want to save the file in and then click "Save."
  3. Navigate to the folder you saved the file in and Right Click for PC or Ctrl + Click for Mac, then select "Open With" from the menu and select Adobe Acrobat Reader DC.

    Note: Open the PDF file from your desktop or Adobe Acrobat Reader DC. Do not click on the downloaded file at the bottom of the browser since it will not open the PDF in Adobe Acrobat Reader DC. It will try to open the file in the browser that results in the same browser error message.

    If still having trouble viewing or downloading a form, click here.

Effective Date: 
1/2020

Documents

Instructions

Updated: 01/2020

Purpose

Form 3207 is used to apply for a new or change in status license for a Chemical Dependency Treatment Facility. Contact Health Facility Licensing at 512-834-6648 with any questions.

Information regarding licensure for chemical dependency treatment facilities, including contact information for the Substance Use Disorder Compliance Unit is located on the Texas Health and Human Services’ website at https://hhs.texas.gov/doing-business-hhs/provider-portals/health-care-facilities-regulation/substance-abuse-treatment-facilities.

Procedure

When to Prepare

New Applicant

To apply for licensure, the applicant must submit the following:

  • A completed Form 3207;
  • Licensure fees;
  • Completed Form 3208, Chemical Dependency Treatment Facility Licensure Application Checklist for Initial Applicants; and
  • Supplemental documentation, as required by Texas Administrative Code (TAC), Chapter 448, Chemical Dependency Standard of Care Rules, §448.401 License Required and §448.403(a-h) New Licensure Application.

Processing times for initial applications is 120 days from the date Health Facility Licensing receives the submission [TAC §448.403 (a-h) for processing timelines].

Chemical Dependency Licenses are non-transferable and do not have a Change of Ownership Application Process [TAC Chapter 448 §448.401(c)]. When a new entity purchases an existing licensed facility and the purchase affects the legal name and Federal Tax ID, the existing licensed provider must submit a closure form and relinquish the license. The new entity must apply as a new applicant and go through the initial application process.

Currently Licensed Applicant

To apply for change in status licensure, the applicant must submit the following:

  • A completed Form 3207;
  • Applicable licensure fees;
  • Completed Form 3208, Chemical Dependency Treatment Facility Licensure Application Checklist for Initial Applicants; and
  • Applicable supplemental documents, as required by TAC Chapter 448, Chemical Dependency Standard of Care Rules, §448.401, License Required and §448.405(a-d) Change in Status.

A change in status application may take up to 120 days from the date Health Facility Licensing receives the application. Processing times are subject to the Substance Use Disorder Compliance Unit inspector’s final review and inspection schedules, if applicable.

A change in address (site move) will be processed as a new site.

To update a clinical program director, facility contact, email and/or phone number, submit the request on company letterhead, signed by the chief executive officer (CEO). The request can be submitted by mail or fax.

Important Items to Note

  • Per Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 448, Chemical Dependency Standard of Care Rules, pursuant to §448.401(h), “The facility shall have a license for each physical location at which it provides residential services or outpatient services.”
  • The legal name and Federal Employment Identification Number (FEIN) on the application should reflect the legal name and FEIN as it is filed with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).
  • The Assumed Name or Doing Business As (DBA) provided on the application must reflect exactly as it is filed with the Texas Secretary of State’s Office and/or applicable county clerk’s office.

Mailing Address for Applications with Fees

HHSC AR MC1470
P.O. Box 149055
Austin, TX 78714-9055

Overnight Address for Applications with Fees

HHSC AR MC1470
1100 West 49th Street
Austin, TX 78756

Mailing Address for Applications Without Fees

HHSC
Health Facility Licensing
Mail Code 1868
P.O. Box 149347
Austin, TX 78714