Child day care includes center-based and home-based operations that provide care for children 13 years or younger for less than 24 hours a day while parents or guardians are at work or school. This includes Child Care Centers, School-age Program, Before or After-School Programs, Licensed Child Care Homes, Registered Child Care Homes, and Listed Family Homes.
Clarification of Minimum Standards Related to CCDBG Requirements
(Each lasts approximately 10 minutes and do not count towards annual training hours)
- Child Food Allergies
- Handling, Storage and Disposal of Hazardous Materials
- Emergency Preparedness
- Health and Safety Training Requirements
Training Information for Child Care Providers
- Child Care Trainer Requirements
- Online Training for Child Care Providers
- Texas Early Childhood Professional Development System
- Reporting Suspected Abuse or Neglect of a Child: A Guide for Education Professionals
- The Americans with Disabilities Act, Title III, and Child Care Operations
- Thinking Guide to Inclusive Childcare
- Autism Information
Vision and Hearing Screening Reporting
The Texas Department of State Health Services requires Licensed Child Care Centers and Licensed Child Care Homes with enrolled children ages 4 years and older to have vision and hearing screenings reported annually. The reporting period for the screenings begin on January 15, 2020 and are required to be submitted online at the Child Health Reporting System by June 30 of each year. Visit the Texas DSHS Vision and Hearing Screening Program for additional information.
- Safe to Sleep - Learn About SIDS/Safe Infant Sleep
- Information regarding the CPSC crib requirements is available at: U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: Crib Information Center
The Child and Adult Care Food Program for Child Care Centers and Child Care Homes is administered in Texas through the Texas Department of Agriculture. The CACFP helps child and adult day care facilities, and family day homes to improve the nutritional quality of the meals they provide to the individuals receiving services at their facilities. To learn more and determine if you are eligible, visit the TDA web page or call 877-TEX-MEAL.