Abortion Facilities

Sign up to receive email updates about important changes to the Abortion Facility Licensing Program. This feature will serve as a tool to increase communication with license holders regarding new information added to the website.

Sign Up

Abortion Facilities in Texas are regulated by the Texas Health and Human Services Commission. The Regulatory Services Division within HHSC is responsible for overseeing the licensing and compliance of Abortion Facilities as required by Texas Administrative Code, Title 25, Part 1, Chapter 139, Abortion Facility Reporting and Licensing Rules, §139.23 Application Procedures and Issuance of Licenses. The division conducts surveys during the initial licensing period to review facility and personnel records, policies and procedures, interview staff, and discuss final survey findings to ascertain compliance with Health and Safety Code and associated rules.

For information regarding licensure for health care facilities, contact the zone office for your location at Health Facility Compliance Zone Office (PDF).

The Health & Safety Code, Chapter 245, Abortion Facilities statute requires a "universal reporting" of abortion procedures by all providers of abortion services. The statute contains strict confidentiality provisions relating to the release by HHSC of any information pertaining to an abortion facility. The statute does allow for the release of statistical information reported to the HHSC. This information is compiled with assistance of the HHSC Center for Analytics and Decision Support and is viewable on their Induced Termination of Pregnancy Statistics page. The latest abortion information can be found on the HHS website.

Abortion Reporting Forms and Supporting Documents

Abortion Reporting Forms

The following forms are required to be submitted to CADS:

For questions regarding regulatory ITOP reporting requirements, please contact infohflc@hhsc.state.tx.us.

For assistance completing the online forms, for technical support, or to provide feedback on the user experience, please email itop_reporting@hhsc.state.tx.us.

Other Forms

Find or Verify a Licensee

Licensing

The following documents, fees, and actions shall be completed and approved before a license will be issued:

Initial Application

  • A license application form (PDF) submitted no earlier than 90 calendar days prior to the projected opening date of the facility.
  • A license fee of $5,000.00 shall be submitted. Make checks payable to the Texas Health and Human Services Commission. License fees are not refundable.
  • Provide the organizational structure of the staffing for the facility.
  • A pre-licensing inspection shall be conducted by the Commission prior to licensure.

Renewal Application

Change of Ownership Application

  • A license application form (PDF) to be submitted at least 60 calendar days prior to the desired date of the change of ownership
  • A license fee of $5,000.00 shall be submitted. Make checks payable to the Texas Health and Human Services Commission. License fees are not refundable.
  • Provide the organizational structure of the staffing for the facility.
  • The applicant shall include evidence of the Change of Ownership.
  • A pre-licensing inspection shall be conducted by the Commission prior to licensure.

Relocation Application

  • A license application form submitted at least 60 days in advance of the relocation.
  • A license fee of $5,000.00 shall be submitted. Make checks payable to the Texas Health and Human Services Commission. License fees are not refundable.
  • Provide the organizational structure of the staffing for the facility.
  • A pre-licensing inspection shall be conducted by the Commission prior to licensure.

License Applications

Survey Components

During the initial licensing period, Health Facility Compliance Zone Office staff will conduct an on-site survey to determine compliance with the provisions of the Health and Safety Code and associated rules. An entrance conference will be held with key facility personnel. Zone office staff will explain the survey process and answer questions. During the survey, zone office staff will:

  • Review clinical records.
  • Review facility policies and procedures.
  • Review quality assurance activities.
  • Review personnel records.
  • Interview staff.
  • Conduct an exit conference with key facility personnel.
  • Discuss survey findings.

Laws and Rules

Enforcement Actions

Abortion Facilities  Enforcement Actions, September 2018 – August 2019 (PDF)

Contact Information

Compliance Issues

Call the toll-free phone number for consumer information on abortion facilities compliance issues:

Open Records Requests

There is no specific form for submitting your open records request. Your request must be in writing and may be submitted by mail, fax or email. Include enough description and detail about the information requested so we can accurately identify and locate the information. List your name and mailing address so we can provide you with the requested information. We may also provide you with an itemized statement of charges, if applicable, or notify you if the information you are requesting cannot be provided promptly.

General Email, Fax, Phone and Mailing Information

Phone: 512-834-6648
Fax: 512-834-4514
Email: infohflc@hhsc.state.tx.us

Mailing Address for Applications with Fees:
HHSC-ARTS
P.O. BOX 149055
Austin, Texas 78714-9055

Take a Customer Service Survey