5.10 Application Signatures

Record the application signature in ReHabWorks (RHW). When RHW is not available, use DARS5059, DRS Application Statement—CRS, to record the application signature.

The consumer signs the application electronically by using a personal identification

5.10.1 Assigning a PIN

When you enter a consumer’s contact information in ReHabWorks (RHW) during initial contact, RHW automatically assigns the last four digits of the consumer's Social Security number (SSN) as a temporary PIN. During the application phase, or at any time that the PIN is reset, the consumer must choose a new PIN to replace the temporary PIN.

The consumer, or the consumer’s parent, guardian, or representative, chooses and enters a four-digit PIN as a signature of authorization on the application and all other electronic documents that require a signature of authorization (for example, the application and the consumer’s Individualized Written Rehabilitation Plan).

Encourage the consumer to use a number that is easy to remember. Do not record the PIN in the case note; instead, encourage the consumer or the consumer’s representative to record the PIN and keep it for reference.

5.10.2 When a Consumer Cannot Remember the PIN

If the consumer cannot remember his or her PIN and ReHabWorks (RHW) is available:

  1. contact the manager or the manager's designee to reset the PIN to the last four digits of the consumer’s Social Security number and document the reason for resetting the PIN in a case note; and
  2. have the consumer reset the PIN to a new number.

To learn how to reset a PIN for a consumer or the consumer’s representative, parent, or guardian, refer to the RHW Users Guide, Chapter 8 PINS.

5.10.3 The Parent’s or Guardian’s Signature

The signature or PIN of a parent or guardian is required when the consumer is:

  • a minor (under 18 years of age); or
  • legally incompetent and assigned a legal guardian.

Note: Usually a foster parent is not the legal guardian for his or her foster child and cannot sign an application for services, releases, or the consumer’s Individualized Written Rehabilitation Plan on behalf of the child. The child's managing conservator has the legal authority to sign these documents. Locate the conservator through the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services. A person under 18 years of age and legally married is not considered a minor under Texas law.

5.10.4 A Consumer Representative’s Signature

A consumer may designate someone as his or her representative for all or part of the rehabilitation process. The representative may be authorized to sign documents, speak on the consumer's behalf, or serve in other capacities indicated on DARS1487, Designation of Applicant or Consumer Representative. In some cases, a representative can play an important role in facilitating communication and helping the consumer meet his or her rehabilitation outcome.