Value-Based Payment & Quality Improvement Advisory Committee

The Value-Based Payment and Quality Improvement Advisory Committee (Quality Committee) provides a forum to promote public-private, multi-stakeholder collaboration in support of quality improvement and value-based payment initiatives for Medicaid, other publicly funded health services and the wider health care system. It was established in accordance with Texas Government Code §531.012.

For more information on Health and Human Services Value-Based Payment Initiative, visit the Value Based Care page

The Quality Committee studies and makes recommendations regarding:

  • Value-based payment and quality improvement initiatives to promote better care, better outcomes and lower costs for publicly funded health care services.
  • Core metrics and a data analytics framework to support value-based purchasing and quality improvement in Medicaid/CHIP.
  • HHSC and managed care organization incentive and disincentive programs based on value.
  • The strategic direction for Medicaid/CHIP value-based programs.

The Quality Committee also pursues other deliverables consistent with its purpose to improve quality and efficiency in state health care services, as requested by the HHSC executive commissioner or adopted into its work plan or bylaws.
By December 1 of each even-numbered year, the committee submits a written report to the executive commissioner and Texas Legislature that:

  • Describes current trends and identifies best practices in health care for value-based payment and quality improvement
  • Provides recommendations consistent with the purposes of the Quality Committee

Upcoming Meetings:

  • August 25, 2020
  • November 10, 2020

The above dates are tentative. 


Steven M. Berkowitz, MD, Chair, Austin

Sarojini Bose, MD, McAllen

Cliff Fullerton MD, Dallas

Cecilia Ganduglia Cazaban, MD, Houston

Adam M. Garrett, Lewisville 

Angie Haney-Urrea, Round Rock

Beverly Hardy-Decuir, DNP, Dallas

Andy Keller, PhD, Dallas

Kathy Lee, Gatesville

Benjamin, McNabb, Pharm. D., Eastland

Mary Dale Peterson, MD, Vice Chair, Corpus Christi 

Michael Stanley, MD, Dallas

Vincent Sowell, Kenedy

Rose Taylor Calhoun, Bellaire

Ex Officio Representatives

Daverick Isaac, Austin

Lisa C. Kirsch, Austin

Joseph Ramon III, R.Ph., McAllen

For Additional Information

Please email Jimmy Blanton or call 512-380-4372.

Past Events

March 9, 2020

May 7, 2019

January 22, 2019

August 7, 2018