Note: The Children’s Policy Council was eliminated due to legislative action and is now inactive. Their work has transitioned to the Policy Council for Children and Families.

Background and Purpose

The Children's Policy Council helps health and human services agencies in developing, implementing, and administering family support policies and related long-term care and health programs for children. The council produces a biennial report with recommendations to the health and human services executive commissioner and the Texas Legislature.

The council includes relatives of consumers of long-term care and health programs for children, and representatives of community, faith, business and other organizations.

Council Members

  • Leah Rummel, Chair, San Antonio
  • Karen T Yeaman, Immediate Past Chair, Denton
  • Denise Sonleitner, Past Chair, Austin
  • Emily Rogers, Secretary, Austin
  • John Roppolo, San Marcos
  • Silvia Vargas, El Paso
  • Brian Spann, Allen
  • Laura WarrenAustin
  • Elizabeth Tucker, EveryChild, Inc., Austin
  • Mary Klentzman, Joni and Friends, Plano
  • David Evans, Austin Travis County Integral Care, Austin
  • Greg Mazick, National Nursing and Rehab SA Pediatrics, Inc, San Antonio
  • Josette Saxton, Austin

Ex-Officio Members

  • Dr. Carl Tapia, Texas Children’s Hospital, Houston

Agency Representatives

  • Ivy Goldstein, Department of State Health Services
  • Cynthia Henderson, Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
  • Corliss Powell, Department of Aging and Disability Services
  • Jessica Ramos, Texas Council for Developmental Disabilities
  • Kristen Jones, Department of Family Protective Services
  • Brian Dees, Texas Health and Human Services Commission
  • Vanessa Sarria, Texas Health and Human Services Commission