February 13, 2020 - 9:00am

Health and Human Services Commission, Brown-Heatly Building, Public Hearing Room
4900 North Lamar Blvd
Austin, TX 78751

Add to My Calendar

Webcasting Available

This meeting will be webcast. To access the webcast, go to https://hhs.texas.gov/about-hhs/communications-events/live-archived-meetings the day and time of the meeting.

  1. Welcome, introductions, and opening remarks
  2. Approval of November 7, 2019, meeting minutes (Vote required)
  3. Medicaid and Children’s Health Insurance Program activities

    ACTION ITEM:

  4. MCO Audit Coordination
    -   Jason Mendl, Director, HHSC Financial Reporting and Audit Coordination and
       Frank Bryan, Senior Counsel, HHSC Office of the Inspector General

    Texas Government Code §533.015 requires HHSC to coordinate all oversight of managed care organization activities to minimize duplication of effort. HHSC Medicaid/CHIP and OIG both have roles in oversight of managed care organizations, and the statute requires these roles and jurisdiction be outlined in rule. Rule amendments are necessary to define HHSC Medicaid/CHIP and HHSC-OIG roles and jurisdiction related to audits of managed care organizations.

    INFORMATIONAL ITEMS:

  5. Payment Caps in Disproportionate Share Hospital program
    - Charles Greenberg, Director, HHSC Hospital Finance and Waiver Programs

    HHSC proposes new payment caps for the Disproportionate Share Hospital and Uncompensated Care (UC) Medicaid supplemental payment programs, which reimburse hospitals providing services to predominantly Medicaid and low income patients.

  6. UC Secondary Reconciliation
    - Charles Greenberg, Director, HHSC Hospital Finance and Waiver Programs

    The purpose of the proposed rule is to eliminate the requirement that a secondary reconciliation be performed for a hospital that submitted a request for an adjustment to cost and payment data for their UC application in demonstration year 2, as the UC applicants did not have the full knowledge of consequences of requesting an adjustment before they submitted their UC application.

  7. Advisory Committee Repeals and Extensions
    - Mahan Farman-Farmaian, Director, HHSC Rules Coordination Office

    HHSC has adopted rules to extend the expiration date for the State Medicaid Managed Care Advisory Committee, the STAR Kids Managed Care Advisory Committee, the Value-Based Payment and Quality Improvement Advisory Committee, and the e-Health Advisory Committee until 2023. The rules extend the Texas Autism Council until December 31, 2020. The rules also eliminate the Behavioral Health Integration Advisory Committee, the Employment First Task Force, and the Advisory Committee for Health Care Translators and Interpreters because the committees are expired. Finally, the rules remove the Palliative Care Interdisciplinary Advisory Council ’s expiration date and make it a standing committee based on Senate Bill 1731, 85th Legislature, Regular Session, 2017, which repealed Texas Health and Safety Code §118.003.

  8. Attendant Minimum Wage (Rider 45)
    - Samuel West, Manager, HHSC Research, Development and Methodology

    HHSC proposes to increase the minimum base wage paid to personal attendants from $8.00 to $8.11 per hour and requires that the person employed as an attendant be notified of the base wage requirement for providers employed through a wide range of HHSC programs, along with contractors and subcontractors for these programs. Additionally, it requires that financial management services agencies comply with the increased wage and makes minor changes to references in the legislation.

  9. Discussion regarding possible additional committee activities
  10. Public comment
  11. Proposed next meeting: May 14, 2020, at 9:00 a.m.
  12. Adjourn

Contact: Questions regarding agenda items, content, or meeting arrangements should be directed to Caroline Sunshine, Advisory Committee Coordinator, Medicaid and CHIP Services Department, 512-428-1948, caroline.sunshine@hhsc.state.tx.us.

This meeting is open to the public. No reservations are required, and there is no cost to attend this meeting. People with disabilities who wish to attend the meeting and require auxiliary aids or services should contact Sunshine at 512-428-1948 or caroline.sunshine@hhsc.state.tx.us at least 72 hours before the meeting so appropriate arrangements can be made.